top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoubleClickMedia

24 Congress MLAs Sworn in as Ministers in Karnataka's Siddaramaiah Cabinet

Bengaluru, 27, May 2023: Karnataka witnessed the swearing-in of a full cabinet on Saturday as 24 Congress MLAs took their oaths as ministers. This comes a week after Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar, and eight other ministers were sworn in.

The Congress party announced the names of 24 additional ministers, bringing the total strength of the cabinet to 34, the maximum allowed by law.

Among the new ministers, Laxmi R Hebbalkar is the only woman in the cabinet. She successfully retained her seat from the Belgaum Rural constituency, securing a victory margin of around 1,06,805 votes in the recently held Karnataka assembly election. Her opponent was Nagesh Annappa Manolkar of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The selection process for the cabinet ministers involved extensive deliberations between Siddaramaiah, Shivakumar, and the Congress leadership in Delhi, aiming to ensure a balanced representation of leaders from various castes, regions, and affiliations. The Congress party's impressive victory in the assembly elections, winning 135 seats out of 224, added to the complexity of the task.

Here is the list of ministers who took the oath:

1. HK Patil

2. Krishna Byre Gowda

3. N Cheluvarayaswamy

4. K Venkatesh

5. HC Mahadevappa

6. Eshwar Khandre

7. Kyathasandra N. Rajanna

8. Dinesh Gundu Rao

9. Sharanabasappa Darshanapur

10. Shivanand Patil

11. Timmapur Ramappa Balappa

12. SS Mallikarjun

13. Tangadagi Shivaraj Sangappa

14. Sharanaprakash Rudrappa

15. Patil Mankal Vaidya

16. Laxmi R Hebbalkar

17. Rahim Khan

18. D. Sudhakar

19. Santhosh S Lad

20. NS Boseraju

21. Suresha BS

22. Madhu Bangarappa

23. Dr MC Sudhakar

24. B Nagendra


bottom of page