top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoubleClickMedia

Australia Clinches World Test Championship Title with Commanding 209-Run Triumph Over India

Australia Secures World Test Championship Title with Convincing 209-Run Victory Over India at The Oval

Australian cricket team with WTC 2023 final

Australia has officially claimed the title of world Test champions with a resounding 209-run win over India at The Oval. The stellar performance from Scott Boland and Nathan Lyon led to Australia's dominant bowling display in the fourth innings, as they took three and four wickets respectively, dismissing India for 234.

This marks India's second loss in a World Test Championship final, following their defeat to New Zealand in 2021. Travis Head emerged as the player of the match, contributing an impressive 163 runs in the first innings and 18 runs in the second. Reflecting on the victory, Head expressed his delight, describing it as "amazing."

The journey to the World Test Championship began for Australia in 2021, and throughout the two-year period, the team encountered various challenges, including the replacement of Justin Langer with Andrew McDonald as coach last year. Head credited the team's confidence in their game plan and adherence to their systems as the catalysts for their strong performance.

India's hopes of a world-record 444-run chase on the fifth day gradually diminished, especially after the dismissal of Virat Kohli for 49 in the seventh over of the day, thanks to a stunning catch by Steve Smith at second slip off Scott Boland's delivery. Boland also claimed Ravindra Jadeja's wicket in the same over.

The mood at The Oval shifted as the pro-India crowd fell silent, realizing that Australia's victory was inevitable. Ajinkya Rahane, who was 46 not out overnight, fell for 46 when he edged Mitchell Starc behind, triggering a collapse of the last five Indian wickets just before scheduled lunch.

Boland initiated Australia's celebratory moments with his crucial wickets on the final day, supported by Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon, who each claimed two wickets in the morning session. Lyon sealed the victory by dismissing Mohammed Siraj, with wicketkeeper Alex Carey taking four catches in the innings.


bottom of page