top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoubleClickMedia

Breaking News! Siddaramaiah Sworn in as Karnataka CM, DK Shivakumar as Deputy CM

Bengaluru: Siddaramaiah, senior Congress leader, took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka today at the Kanteerava Stadium. DK Shivakumar also took the oath as the Deputy CM. Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered the oath to both leaders.

Additionally, Dr G Parameshwara, KH Muniyappa, KJ George, and MB Patil were sworn in as cabinet ministers in the new Karnataka government.

Prior to the ceremony, Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar met with Congress leader Sonia Gandhi to finalize the cabinet members and invite her for the swearing-in ceremony. The Congress Legislature Party had elected Siddaramaiah as its leader, after which he was invited by the Governor to form the new government.

The swearing-in ceremony also witnessed the presence of Congress top brass and several Opposition leaders. The event showcased the grand old party's efforts to foster unity among the Opposition ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

In a remarkable victory, the Congress emerged triumphant in Karnataka, securing a remarkable 135 seats in the state, while the BJP's tally dwindled to just 66 seats. This political development has sent shockwaves through the region, reshaping the political landscape in Karnataka.


bottom of page