top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoubleClickMedia

'Caught' in Controversy: Shubman Gill's Dismissal in WTC Final Ignites Twitter Storm

In the highly anticipated ICC World Test Championship final at the Oval in London, Indian batsman Shubman Gill faced a dismissal during the second innings. Australian seamer Scott Boland executed a skillful delivery that found the outside edge of Gill's bat in the eighth over of India's ambitious 444-run chase. The ball swiftly traveled towards fielder Cameron Green, who demonstrated impressive athleticism with a diving attempt to his right. Although Green managed to secure the catch, there was a slight element of uncertainty surrounding the manner in which he took it.


Cameroon Green taking controversial catch

The on-field umpires, Chris Gaffaney and Richard Illingworth, referred the catch to the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough. After a thorough examination of multiple replays, Kettleborough ultimately deemed the catch to be legitimate. However, the available live footage did not provide a definitive angle to determine whether the Australian fielder had successfully avoided making contact with the ground while taking the catch with his left hand.


The intense cricket action also sparked discussions on social media, particularly on Twitter, where users shared their observations and opinions on the crowd's reaction to the third umpire's decision. Notably, Mufaddal Vohra tweeted, "The Oval crowd started chanting 'cheater, cheater' after the third umpire's decision." Meanwhile, David pointed out, "Loud 'Cheater, Cheater' chants echoed throughout the ground as Gill walked off following that catch."


Here are few tweets:








This dismissal took place shortly before Tea, resulting in India being at 41 for one after 7.1 overs. The catch controversy triggered extensive discussions across various social media platforms, with passionate debates arising regarding the validity and fairness of the catch.

Komentarai


bottom of page